Ref 65: Flash Boys

  Please note the authoritative resources for the data below are:


The sponsorship details as located on the conferences public websites:
(now offline)
2. My first hand experiences e.g. observations of, conversations with some of the key practitioners at the Flashforward 2001 Amsterdam festival (Nikola Tosic , James Paterson , Joshua Davis , Andres Odendaal ), and the Madrettor 2002 festival (Mike Young , Amy Franceschini , Jemma Gura , François Naudé , Bradley Grosh , Daniel Brown , Ben Wheatley .


Continued informal but expert advice from the Flash developer Hoss Gifford, who has presented eight times at the Flash Forward conferences between 2000 -2004, Milia Cannes (2001), NMUF New York (2001), Rotterdam (2001), BD4D (main speaker Manchester 2002), Flash in the Can Toronto (2004) and is the author of: New Masters of Flash 2002 (1903450365), Flash MX Upgrade Essentials (1903450764), Flash Video Creativity (1904344216), see electronic text for more details.
4. My personal experiences of being approach online by Flash practitioners searching out other female peers e.g. Veronique Brossier and Sunny at (now offline) and Norma V Toraya the artist behind .

Significant Flash and digital design expos and their sponsors:

- pres

The Flash Forward festivals are sponsored by Macromedia.
Available in electronic format:

- pres

OFFF, The Online Flash Film Festival is this year sponsored by Diesel and MediaTemple
- 2002
The Idn Conferences or Fresh conferences are sponsored by Adobe, Mackintosh and Macromedia. Available in electronic format:
- pres
Flash In The Can, the Canadian Flash festival is this year sponsored by Macromedia, Humber, and MediaTemple. Available in electronic format:
- pres
The French Flash Festival hosted this year at the Pompidou centre Paris is sponsored in part by Macromedia. Available in electronic format:
2002 Madrettor the Rotterdam new media festival (associated with N.M.U.F underground, 2001) had no corporate sponsorship.

Macromedia and their boys


Macromedia are the gold sponsors of the Flashforward (FF) conferences. These have been running since the inaugural session in San Francisco 2000. The conferences have helped promote and showcase online projects that use Flash as a core technology, which in turn sustains interest and energy around their product. In ever increasing amounts, the FF conferences are failing to involve critical dialogue or artworks that embody critical commentaries.

Rather, the conferences are becoming more commercial -- focusing on technique and programming orientated master classes. In their ( and ) choices of conference speakers they have helped the visibility of a group of key newmedia developers. Below are a list of the main practitioners using Flash. The second list is used to draw comparisons on the inequality in the volume of visible women.

Visible male Flash practitioners:

Joshua Davis (US)

Branden Hall (US)
Yugo Nakamara (Japan)
James Patterson (Canada) &
Amit Pitaru (US) &
Andres Odendaal (South Africa) &
Michael Young & Michael Cina (US) , , ,
Florian Schmitt (UK)
Josh On (US)
Brendan Dawes (UK)
Robert Hodgin (US)
Eric Natzke (US)
Manny Tan (US)
Michael Schmidt & Toke Nygaard (US) &
Matt Owens (US)
Alex Sacui (US)
Yohan Gingras (Canada)
Nando Costa (Brazil)
Niko Stumpo (Italy)
Bradley Grosh (US)
Ian Kovalik (US)
Tom Roope (UK)
Hoss Gifford (UK)
Ross Mawdsley (UK)
Han Hoogerbrugge (EU)
Daniel Brown (UK)
Geoff Sterns (US)
James Tindall (UK)
Daljit Singh (UK)
Mickey Stretton & Simon Sankarayya (UK)
Martin Highes & Jordan Stone (US/UK)
Matthew Richmond &Thomas Romer (US)
James Baker & KC Austin (US)
Jon Lorenz (Canada)
Todd Purgason (US)
Josh Ulm (US)
Samuel Wan (US) &
James Widegren (US)
Robert Penner (US)
Colin Mook (US)
Ty Lettau (US)
Matt Owens & Warren Corbit (US)
Jared Tarbell (US)
Andy Cameron (UK)
Jerome Chatelain (France)
Trevor Van Meter (EU)
Krister Olsson (US)
Grant Skinner (Canada)
Daniel Achilles (US)
Jeremy Thorp (Canada)
Patrick Thiel (US)
Pascal Leroy (BE)
Marcos Wescamp(EU)
Thijs Triemstra (EU)
Craig Swann (Canada)

It is well acknowledged that female practitioners are under- represented and are often invisible in the field of digital design. The list below shows the notable visible women:

Alexandria Jugovic (UK)

Amy Franceschini (US)
Jemma Gura (US)
Veronique Brossier (France)
Karen Ingram (US)
Irene Chan (US)
Marina Zurkow (US)
Jessica Speigel (US)
Anisa Suthayalai (US)
Darleen Scherer (US)
Auriea Harvey (US)

A list of less well known but not completely invisible practitioners:

Norma V Toraya (US)

Eun-Ha Paek (US) &
Jimmy Owenn (France)
Young-hae Chang (South Korea)
Chantelle Tucker (Canada)
The invisible - the untold
"Untold grew out of a challenging statistic that appeared in the Onedotzero 06 catalogue". Onedotzero (1996-present) is a project that showcases the best in digital media and film. Their statistic in their 2002 tour showed that of all the contributors to the festival only 1% was female. The Institute of Contemporary Arts (London), which was holding the festival, contacted the untold collective to organise an exhibition of female designers to run on either side of the Onedotzero festival as a response. It resulted in Untold the exhibition at the ICA London (May 2002). Available as electronic text:
From the continuing work of the "untold collective":
Racheal Collinson (UK)

Zelda Rhiando (UK)
Domitilla Biondi (Italy)
Christine Zmoelnig (EU)
Susanne Dickel (UK)
Roya Jakoby (UK)
Sarah Morris (UK)
Ivana Martinovic (EU) &
Azul de Corso (Argentina)
Anna Angul (Australia)
Angela Rohner (US)
Nat Hunter (UK)
Chanuki Seresinhe/Francis O'Reilly (UK)
LindA (UK)

Selection from Available as electronic text:
Charlene Tay (Singapore)

Christine Smart (US)
Emme Stone (US)
Arnida Drew Europeo (Philippines)
Lia (EU)
Jude Robinson (UK)
Pamela Holden (UK)
Margaret Penney (US)
Anya Medvedeva (US)